jump to navigation

Cinnamon Roll Pancakes October 8, 2009

Posted by elly in breakfast/brunch.
trackback

There’s a local brunch place in the city called Orange. I haven’t been there in forever (there’s always a huge line and, if I’m being honest, I think it’s sort of gone downhill) but I randomly was thinking about their cinnamon roll pancakes the other day.  I thought about taking a (relatively long) walk there during lunch, but ultimately decided I would try to make my own over the weekend.  I couldn’t remember exactly what’s in the pancakes (like I said, it’s been a while) so I looked at the description on the menu. I’m pretty sure they have candied pecans on them too, though…not that mine did. I don’t candy things at 8am on a Saturday.

At any rate, these were easy enough to whip up and tasted great. For the maple-pecan paste I literally just used toasted pecans and maple syrup (but don’t worry, no paste) and blended them in a food processor.  I didn’t add a whole lot of syrup though because I knew these would be topped with glaze (and maybe more syrup) and didn’t want them to be TOO over the top.

The pancakes are nice and cinnamony and I’ve always loved pecans as a complement to both pancakes and waffles. My glaze was a little runny because I added too much milk and didn’t feel like adding more sugar to thicken it (since it tasted fine) but otherwise, these were a nice change of pace from my normally boring (and usually over-the-top healthy) breakfasts.

Oh, also, this will be my last post for a while! The hubs and I are taking a vacation to Florida so it will probably be a week and a half or so before I’m back. Think happy no-rain thoughts for me, please.

Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

Makes about 8 small pancakes or 5 large pancakes
print Printer Friendly Recipe

1 egg
1 cup milk or buttermilk
1/4 tsp. vanilla
1 Tbsp. brown sugar
1 cup AP flour (I used half whole wheat, half white)
2 tsp. cinnamon
1.25 tsp. baking powder
1 Tbsp. butter, melted
2/3 cup pecans
3 Tbsp.  maple syrup
1/2 cup confectioners sugar
drop of vanilla
milk

Preheat your griddle or pan and grease if necessary. Beat the egg and mix it with the milk, vanilla and brown sugar in a large bowl. Sift in the flour, cinnamon, and baking powder. Add the butter and mix lightly together with a spatula.  Spoon out the batter in equal amounts onto the hot griddle. Cook until  you start to see bubbles forming around the edges and a little on the top. Flip the pancakes and finish cooking on the other side.

Meanwhile, toast  your pecans in a dry skillet over medium heat until they become fragrant. Put them in a mini food processor with the maple syrup and pulse until well combined and paste-like (adding more syrup, if you wish).

To make the glaze, sift the confectioners sugar into a bowl. Then add the vanilla and a little milk until you get the proper consistency.

To plate, place a little bit of the pecan-maple paste in between each stacked pancake and drizzle with the glaze. Add more pecans and some powdered sugar on top, if desired.

Comments»

1. Peter G - October 8, 2009

You had me at cinnamon! Delicious Elly! Enjoy your vacation!

2. nina - October 9, 2009

Strong black coffee, a stack of these and I will be a happy camper and so will the rest of my family!! Thx for sharing!!

3. Cate - October 9, 2009

These sound so much better than my usual plain old pancakes. Have a great time in Florida!

4. Yudith - October 9, 2009

I have to try this! I love cinnamon rolls flavor, but don’t want to go through with making them homemade. This is a nice fix to my craving. Have a good vacation!

5. Molly Jean - October 9, 2009

Those look absolutely delicious. And have a fantastic vacation!

:::does the no-rain dance:::

6. Ben - October 9, 2009

Why don’t you candy things at 8am on a Saturday morning? Isn’t that what all good foodies should do? LOL Those pancakes look amazing. I can just imagine the smell on a lazy fall weekend :-p

7. Heather - October 9, 2009

Orange closed down. It was overrated. For outrageous pancakes, try Bongo room at Wabash and Roosevelt. Their pancakes are out of control.

elly - October 9, 2009

I agree, Bongo is great. There are still a couple Oranges around–they actually just put one up on Clark & Fullerton semi-recently. But I do agree, it’s definitely overrated.

annie - October 9, 2009

I’ve only just tried the Bongo room and I agree–it’s absolutely delicious. Plus, I also like that they have an egg-less breakfast burrito, for those rare occasions I don’t want pancakes.

8. Jade - October 9, 2009

These look divine!!! I was wanting to make something different for my husband this weekend and I found it!

9. Joan Nova - October 9, 2009

Looks yummy. The weather in my part of FL is still warm…er, I mean ‘hot’ and there’s no rain in the forecast. Enjoy!

10. Mind Body and School - October 9, 2009

Those look so delicious. I’m still a huge fan of Orange, but only a few dishes- the cinnamon roll pancakes and their green eggs and ham. Their omlettes are pretty good too. Some of the other dishes are overrated. Maybe I’ll just use your recipe and save myself from driving in city traffic! Looks amazing.

11. Colleen - October 10, 2009

YUM! I just might have to make these tomorrow (Sunday morning) instead of our usual out-of-the-box pancakes!

12. Bellini Valli - October 10, 2009

These would be perfect to wake up to Elly…have a fantastic holiday in the sunshhine State:D

13. Kevin - October 10, 2009

Great idea for pancakes! hey look so good!

14. emily227 - October 11, 2009

How interesting! I’ve been meaning to make actual cinnamon rolls forever and I never actually do.
~www.joyofcooking.wordpress.com

15. tobias cooks! - October 11, 2009

I just had lunch…and now I am hungry again…

16. Cynthia Nelson - October 11, 2009

These look sooooo good!

17. Kerstin - October 11, 2009

Your cinnamon roll pancakes look amazing, talk about the perfect weekend breakfast!.

I hope you have a wonderful vacation!!

18. Peter - October 12, 2009

Another genius breakfast move by you…much like Baklava French Toast…you’ve taken a favourite flavour and made into brekkie delight!

19. katie - October 12, 2009

Ohhhhh my goodness. Those look so insanely good. Pancakes are my reward for any goal I set for myself (because I love them so much ) but these look like the ULTIMATE reward!!! mmm…

20. Ivy - October 12, 2009

I love cinnamon and combined with maple syrup these pancakes sound so tempting.

21. Juliana - October 13, 2009

These pancakes would be a great treat for a weekend brunch…look delicious!

22. ash - October 14, 2009

oh my goodness… these look SOOO good!!

23. Lisa - October 18, 2009

omg that looks so good, would luv some of that!

24. Maria - October 19, 2009

I love pancakes, and I could have them for breakfast, lunch or dinner any time. These sound so good … the cinnamon so warm and flavorful.

25. Joumana - October 21, 2009

These look so good, I am gonna have to make them for my daughter! she was craving pancakes recently.

26. Erin - October 22, 2009

I hope FL was fun! These look great… and I love Orange! I do think it can be a bit hit or miss, but when it’s good, it’s really good :) The pancake flights are so fun there!

27. grace - November 13, 2009

pardon me whilst i wipe up the unseemy puddle of drool that has escaped my mouth…
what an amazing stack of pancakes, elly–this notion of cinnamon roll-style hubcaps with a unique glaze has to be one of the best ideas ever.

28. Annie - May 17, 2010

I just went to Orange this morning and had the cinnamon roll pancakes for the first time… I immediately knew I had to try to find a similar recipe, and here it is! :) Can’t wait to try this out.

29. Cinnamon Roll Pancakes » The Novice Chef Blog - July 21, 2010

[…] from: Elly Says Opa Posted in […]


Leave a comment