jump to navigation

30 By 30: Key Lime Pie August 18, 2010

Posted by elly in 30 by 30, sweets/desserts.
trackback

I’ve always been a sucker for lime anything.  Key lime pie, marinades, candy, popsicles (Fla-vor-Ice, obviously!).  I think I inherited this particular taste preference from my dad, who once wrote to Life Savers telling them they should make a roll of strictly lime Life Savers, like they do with wild cherry ones.  Sadly, that never happened.  But if anyone from Wrigley is reading this blog…

Key lime pie is one of those things that, while incredibly simple to make, was added to my 30 By 30 List because I’d never made it.  With a graham cracker crust & smooth tart filling, how could you not like this and want to make it?

This recipe came together in no time and tasted great.  I completely forgot to garnish the pie with additional lime zest, but thankfully since there was already lime zest in the filling, it still tasted great.  Neither my husband nor I are big whipped cream people (I know, right?), so I only whipped a cup of cream (the original recipe calls for 1.5 cups), and served it on the side for people who are less strange than Tom and me.  I think 1 cup is enough, though, even if everyone likes a healthy dose on their pie.

Key Lime Pie

Adapted from Martha Stewart

1.5 cups graham cracker crumbs
6 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted and cooled
4.5 Tbsp. sugar, divided
1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
4 large egg yolks
1/2 cup freshly squeezed key lime juice
1 Tbsp. grated lime zest, plus more for garnish
1 cup chilled heavy cream

Heat the oven to 375.  Combine the graham cracker crumbs, butter, and 3 Tbsp. sugar.  Mix well and press into a 9″ pie plate.  Bake until lightly browned, about 12 minutes, and then move to a wire rack to cool completely.

Lower oven to 325.  In a medium bowl, gently whisk the condensed milk, egg yolks, lime juice and zest.  Pour into the prepared crust. Bake until center is set but still quivers when pan is nudged, about 15-17 minutes.  Cool completely on a wire rack.

Shortly before serving, combine the cream and remaining 1.5 Tbsp. sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a whisk attachment.  Whisk on medium speed until soft peeks form, about 2-3 minutes.  Spoon over the cooled pie, garnish with additional lime zest, and serve immediately.

Comments»

1. Margo - August 18, 2010

I used to work for Wrigley! I’ll have to pass the idea along! :)

2. Banana Wonder - August 18, 2010

I’ll take your extra whipped cream! Hmmmm I love citrusy pies and this actually doesn’t seem impossible to make. Perfect for the summer! Good work on the 30×30!

3. Jen @ BeantownBaker.com - August 18, 2010

Looks great. I love easy pies!

4. Peter G @ Souvlaki For The Soul - August 18, 2010

I’m surprised at how simple the recipe looks…love the presentation Elly…keep that list going!

5. Jenn AKA The Leftover Queen - August 19, 2010

Key lime pie is awesome! This looks great Elly – and I also inherited a love for limes from my dad, who taught me to suck the juice out of the wedges as a treat! Needless to say, I am a fan of sour things!

6. Kara - August 23, 2010

Looks delicious! How many limes did you have to juice to get enough?

elly - August 23, 2010

Hi Kara – I usually get around 1-2T per lime, so probably about 8-10, but I’d buy 15 to be on the safe side (plus you can always use the extras for garnish).

7. şarkı sözleri - December 5, 2010

Looks great. I love easy pies!

8. Batak oyna - January 11, 2011

Looks great. I love easy pies! thanks admin..


Leave a comment